Bookmark and Share
  • Youtube

    Go to Youtube channel

Australia's Skilled Migration System

Australia’s skilled migration system offers three main categories for skilled migrants:

General Skilled Migration

The General Skilled Migration (GSM) visa program is for skilled migrants who are not sponsored by an employer and have skills in particular occupations required in Australia.

GSM applicants must satisfy a points test as part of the visa application requirements. Sponsorship by an eligible family member, or nomination by a state/territory government is also possible under the GSM program.

Find out more about General Skilled Migration Visas

Employer Sponsorship

Lawfully operating Australian and overseas employers may sponsor skilled workers to come to Australia. This can be on a permanent basis through the Employer Nomination Scheme (ENS), Regional Sponsored Migration Scheme (RSMS) or a Labour Agreement.

Employers are also able to sponsor skilled workers on temporary business visas including the Temporary Work (Skilled) Subclass 457 visa, under agreements including Labour Agreements, Enterprise Agreements and Regional Migration Agreements, and the Pacific Seasonal Workers Scheme.

Find out more about Employer Sponsorship Visas

Business Innovation and Investment Program

The Business Innovation and Investment Program targets migrants with a history of business innovation and entrepreneurial talent to invest and develop new business opportunities in Australia. Business migrants must have suitable business or investment skills and access to capital.

Find out more about Business Migration Visas