Bookmark and Share
  • Youtube

    Go to Youtube channel

Regional Sponsored Migration Scheme

The Regional Sponsored Migration Scheme (RSMS) allows employers in a regional, remote or low population growth area of Australia to sponsor overseas skilled workers for permanent residence to fill skill shortages in their business.

The RSMS covers all of Australia except Brisbane, the Gold Coast, Newcastle, Sydney, Wollongong and Melbourne. See the list of eligible postcodes for the purposes of the RSMS on the Department of Immigration and Border Protection’s website. 

Employers can recruit prospective employees who have not worked in Australia, or they may want to offer a permanent position to an employee who is currently working under a temporary subclass 457 visa.

RSMS Requirements 

Entry streams for permanent residence

There are three entry streams for permanent residence under the RSMS. An employer or employee will need to meet all of the requirements of the particular stream they choose.

  • The Temporary Residence Transition stream is for subclass 457 visa holders who have worked for their sponsoring employer for at least two years and whose employer wants to offer them a permanent position in that occupation. This case does not require Regional Certifying Body (RCB) assessment.  The 457 visa holder may lodge the application directly with the Department of Immigration and Border Protection.
  • The Direct Entry stream (subclass 187) is for prospective employees who are untested in the Australian workforce and have not held a subclass 457 visa for at least two years, or who are applying directly from overseas. Positions under the Direct Entry Stream requires advice from a Regional Certifying Body.
  • The Agreements stream is for prospective employees who are being sponsored by an employer through a negotiated Labour Agreement or Regional Migration Agreement. 

Regional Certifying Bodies

Regional Certifying Bodies (RCBs) are organisations approved (gazetted) by the Commonwealth Government to have a role in assessing Regional Sponsored Migration Scheme (RSMS) applications. RCBs are required to assess the employer nomination under the RSMS Direct Entry Stream and provide advice to the Department of Immigration and Border Protection as to whether:

  • there is a genuine need for the position
  • the position cannot be filled locally
  • the terms and conditions of employment are equivalent to those paid to an Australian in the same workplace. 

RCBs make no final decisions, and neither approve nor refuse RSMS employer nominations. Obtaining positive RCB advice does not automatically guarantee that the RSMS employer nomination will also be approved by the Department of Immigration and Border Protection (DIBP). In the case of a refusal decision by DIBP the Department will provide the nominating employer or their agent with advice in relation to any appeal rights they may have.   

All employer nominations under the RSMS Direct Entry Stream are to be lodged with the relevant bodies in these regions.

Local Regional Certifying Bodies in Victoria

Regional Certifying Body
Local Government Areas
Contact Details
Loddon Mallee
Gannawarra, Loddon, Greater Bendigo, Mount Alexander, Central Goldfields, Campaspe, Macedon Ranges

Department of Economic Development, Jobs, Transport and Resources
Level 1, 56-60 King Street
Bendigo, Vic 3550
T: 03 4433 8003

DEDJTR- Traralgon VGBO
Baw Baw, Bass Strait, South Gippsland, Latrobe, Wellington, East Gippsland, Mornington Peninsula, Yarra Ranges
Department of Economic Development, Jobs, Transport and Resources
33 Breed Street
Traralgon, Vic 3844
T: 03 5116 7317
DEDJTR- Shepparton VGBO
Greater Shepparton, Moira, Mitchell, Strathbogie, Murrindindi Department of Economic Development, Jobs, Transport and Resources
PO Box 1389
Shepparton, Vic 3632
T: 03 5895 4100
Geelong and surrounds
City of Greater Geelong
Surf Coast, Greater Geelong, Borough of Queenscliffe City of Greater Geelong
PO Box 104
Geelong, Vic 3220
City of Ballarat
Pyrenees, Moorabool, Hepburn, Ballarat, Golden Plains City of Ballarat
Cultural Diversity Unit
PO Box 655
Ballarat, Vic 3353
T: 03 5320 5180
Hume - Wangaratta
Rural City of Wangaratta
Benalla, Mansfield, Wangaratta, Alpine Rural City of Wangaratta
Workforce Sustainability Officer
Wangaratta Government Centre
62-68 Ovens Street
Wangaratta, Vic 3677
T:  03 5722 0772
Hume - Wodonga
Rural City of Wangaratta
Wodonga, Indigo, Towong as above
Mildura Swan Hill Rural City Council Mildura Swan Hill Rural City Council
Economic Development Unit
PO Box 488
Swan Hill, Vic 3585
T:03 5032 3033
Swan Hill Swan Hill Rural City Council Swan Hill as above
Great South Coast Warrnambool City Council Warrnambool, Glenelg, Southern Grampians, Moyne, Corangamite, Colac-Otway Warrnambool City Council
Manager – Business Support
PO Box 198
Warrnambool, Vic 3280
T: 03 5559 4800
Wimmera Wimmera Development Association West Wimmera, Hindmarsh, Horsham, Yarriamback, Buloke, Northern Grampians, Ararat Wimmera Development Association
62 Darlot Street
Horsham, Vic 3400
T: 03 5381 6500


Find out more