Bookmark and Share
  • Youtube

    Go to Youtube channel

Australian Government System

Like other Australian states, Victoria enjoys a politically stable and democratic form of government. The Australian government system is based on the British Westminster style of government.

There are three levels of government in Australia:

The Australian Government

Also known as the Commonwealth or Federal Government, the Australian Government administers national policy, including income tax and immigration.

State and Territory Governments

The State and Territory Governments, (including Victoria) are responsible for state-specific policies, such as health and policing.

Local Government

Local Government in Victoria consists of 79 elected councils that provide leadership and governance, services and facilities to local communities.

For more information about the Victorian Government, visit the Parliament of Victoria website.